1 2 3

#1April 17th, 2008 · 10:58 PM
18 threads / 15 songs
74 posts
United States of America
Any self-taught musicians here?
I taught myself how to play the guitar when I was 11. It was pretty hard in the beginning, but within a couple of weeks, I really started loving it. My first guitar was a cheap acoustic, which sounded really good.

After about 3 years, I hit a dead end and couldn't advance any more without any specific help, so I started taking lessons at a local music shop. I improved a lot because of it.

I'm also self-taught at the piano/keyboard (I learned Light My Fire when I was 13) and the bass.

What about you guys?
#2April 19th, 2008 · 09:24 AM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
Mainley self-taught from age of 12, I'm 48 now. Had pro guitar lessons at 21 for 6 months. my teacher said he could not teach me anymore[I thought he was mad at the time] and that it would be up to me from that point on.

I've learned a lot from playing with good musicians, things that you don't get in books etc.

BandAMP has helped a lot with my songwriting in general.

The main thing is to practice new things to improve, never be satisfied and you will always improve, you can never stop improving, so long as your brain and body parts are working....... LOL

Cheers

Denis
#3April 19th, 2008 · 03:44 PM
44 threads / 6 songs
305 posts
United States of America
Self taught from 13 to 14 then started taking lessons from a Berklee (http://www.berklee.edu/) student.

You can learn *guitar* and *songwriting* by self-teaching...but I've never met anyonet hat was able to successfully learn large amount of *music theory* without some teach/mentor helping/guiding them. It's like, you can learn to be a good artist by imitation and experimentation...but you will never be one of the great painters without some teaching.
#4April 21st, 2008 · 11:56 AM
117 threads / 20 songs
1,422 posts
United States of America
ZachBlume wrote…