1 2

#1July 26th, 2005 · 12:43 AM
1 threads
13 posts
Australia
thinking of buy a new guitar
Hey guys, i just found this site 2day and i have to say its amazing.

ok, so I'm in the market for a new guitar and i don't know a lot about electrics, I've been playing acoustic for a few years now and i wanted to get one of those 50's style Gibson's but Ive heard that they are over rated and i don't know much about them, i would be grateful for any advice

thanks
#2July 26th, 2005 · 09:43 AM
5 threads / 4 songs
18 posts
United States of America
It all depends on the sound you want.

Do you want something gritty? Something Funky? Clean? Crunchy? Polished? Tremolo? Reverby? 60's feel? 70's feel?

So much depends on personal preference and what sound you want. Currently I am saving up for a Rickenbacker semi-hollow. Saw the Brian Jonestown Massacre the other day. They all had them and they sounded phenomenal. One can never have enough guitars.
#3July 26th, 2005 · 07:10 PM
1 threads
13 posts
Australia
One can never have enough guitars

true that! 

Im not to sure about what sort of sound, it all depeneds on which direction i decide to take but at the moment im thinking something clean, and with effects pedals and the like i could just go from there, right? or did i just make a fool of myself... i dont know much about it
#4July 26th, 2005 · 07:13 PM
31 threads / 1 songs
434 posts
United States of America
yes the gibson's are IMHO overrated...

to make this information more accessible and obvious I have re-positioned it here:

http://forum.bandamp.com/Gear_Talk/6231.html

ok... go to it rock star
#5July 26th, 2005 · 07:25 PM
1 threads
13 posts
Australia
wow1 thanks for all the info

but what i should of said at the start is im 16 and have very little money

aka

im doing my research for christmas 

from what u said im leaning towards the Epi

thanks again!
#6July 26th, 2005 · 10:13 PM
7 posts
United States of America
Dude