1 2

#1September 14th, 2005 · 03:43 PM
49 threads / 42 songs
493 posts
United Kingdom
FREE MASTERING
Believe it or not, I've been mastering songs for people for free for 5 years now - I'm still getting people who want to take advantage of that long after I started on this site and I've enjoyed doing it.

However, due to work and other life commitments I simply don't have the time any more.

If I can give one tip to anyone who stumbles across this thread in future, it would be,

SORT YOUR DAMN MIX OUT BEFORE YOU ASK SOMEONE TO MASTER IT

I've had so many people who expected me to turn their crappy mix into their favourite radio sound. That's not what mastering is.

Record it properly, mix it well, and then send it for mastering - you can't polish a turd

If you have loads of noise on your recording, you fail.
If you have put loads of your own effects on and it still sounds terrible, you fail.
If your individual tracks or entire mix is clipping into distortion because its peaking over 0db, you fail.
If you're trying to record using the mic built into your laptop, you fail.
If you record all your drums on to one track, you fail.
If your cymbals are twice as loud as your kick drum, you fail.

And finally - if the person mastering for you tells you something is wrong with your mix and needs fixing at mixdown and not at the mastering stage - they're probably right.

However - If you've put your heart and soul into it, recorded it carefully with reasonable gain and low noise, produced it with a good ear for EQ / compression and conservative reverb, mixed it to peak at -6 to -9 db, and then master it - you win.

Good luck everyone

Much love...

Dave
Feb 2011
#2September 15th, 2005 · 12:36 AM
28 threads / 20 songs
255 posts
Australia
that's really cool, i respect your attitude towards music