#1June 12th, 2007 · 12:27 PM
50 threads
259 posts
United States of America
Lessons?
Ok guys thi is a matter of life and death... I now have the option
to take guitar from a guy that I know... Im am self taught TO THIS POINT!
Now I dont think I can get much farther just self taught  especially since Im
writting now so I know I should get lessons but I want to say Im self taught
and that I worked at all day and all night (cause basically I do) and just ran through
junk and got good technice but what is better self tuaght or faster and easier learning?
#2June 12th, 2007 · 03:48 PM
34 threads / 17 songs
581 posts
Canada
personally, I don't think it matters if you're self-taught or not.  I have never heard that it's better or worse, what DOES matter is the end result - being the best player you can be.
#3June 12th, 2007 · 04:15 PM
55 threads / 30 songs
1,558 posts
United Kingdom
Yeah... what she said!

Actually no - don't necessarily agree.  I'm self taught; started playing when I was about 13, which was many years ago now.  Over the last 10 years I've not exactly regretted having no lessons, but have thought how useful it would have been; especially for learning the various scale types and positions.  I've done my best over the years, but even now I think about maybe going to a guitar teacher to see if they could give me a kick up the back-side and show me a couple of bits to improve my playing.

Do I ramble on.... I think I do!

So my advice is to not be bothered about the kudos of being able to say that you're self taught.  Go out there and learn from someone that can show you how to do it right from the start!

Good luck
#4June 12th, 2007 · 10:54 PM
5 threads / 5 songs
590 posts
United Kingdom
i myself have never paid for a lesson. my brother taught me a few things and the rest i got from tabs, books and myself.