1 2

#1July 13th, 2012 · 11:50 PM
160 threads / 33 songs
1,965 posts
United States of America
I tried to be cool

So I was watching some Youtube videos of Slash and Zach Wylde playing on stage together.. I noticed  how low slung their  Les Pauls were.. I took my strap and lowered mine down to about the same as they had em... F me up.. how the hell do you play the guitar that low and do as good as they do.. I mean granted they are playing moslty minors and minor major pentatonics, but still,  Zack is burning up the frets,  all it did for me is make my writst hurt. 

guess that's what the problem is ,, my arms are to short.   Just can't play the guitar slung real low like Jimmy Page and all the cool guys.  I'm a nerd guitarist,  should have stuck with Jazz,  they all play their guitars up high.

ps it would have been better if they had left Slash's guitar volumes alone,, right at the first of the video he's getting great sound, then they turn him down, F'd it all up.
#2July 15th, 2012 · 07:16 AM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
LOL yeah playing the guitar hung low is suposed to be ccol. These days I don't even use a strap. I lay it on my lap sitting on a comfortable chair, much easier to play - hmmm next I might go one further and play it lying down with my head on two pillows 
#3July 15th, 2012 · 10:43 AM
92 threads / 12 songs
906 posts
United States of America
re: I tried to be cool
toastedgoat wrote…
I noticed  how low slung their  Les Pauls were.. I took my strap and lowered mine down to about the same as they had em... F me up..