#1July 21st, 2011 · 03:06 PM
5 threads
17 posts
United States of America
Are you making $$ off your music online?
Hey guys,

I know this is not a song, I am kind of a new user here so excuse me if this is the wrong board for this kind of discussion.

As an unsigned musician I used to find myself scratching my head all the time and wondering how to make money off of my music and monetize my work on the internet. A little over a month ago I found out about SocialMusic.com and was wondering if anybody else was using this platform? I am currently making a few hundred bucks every few weeks off of my fans that enjoy my music and wish to support what I am doing.

I have found a few resources but I was wondering what you all do to monetize your music content online successfully? It would be great to hear some success stories and maybe get a jump start with some tips. I can share strategy and information on how I am banking with Social Music if you guys wish.

Here are the different platforms that I am aware of:

iTunes:
Cons: Requires users to pay for music which they may not be willing to do.  Certainly not start up artists.

CDbaby.com
Cons: The amount of musicians active on this website is extremely large, so that CD you are selling for $6 may take a while to get noticed.

Songstall.com
Cons: Not the easiest platform to use, company takes a % off of the total song/album sale.

What do you guys think?
#2July 21st, 2011 · 06:41 PM
176 threads / 26 songs
2,342 posts
United Kingdom
re: Are you making $$ off your music online?
UnitedEntity wrote…
Hey guys,

I know this is not a song, I am kind of a new user here so excuse me if this is the wrong board for this kind of discussion.