#1November 27th, 2007 · 11:29 PM
76 threads / 5 songs
529 posts
Cook Islands
I'll give you a hint:Rhymes with banana and starts with an A!No!Not salt.....
MM:So I'm sure just about everyone on the amp has heard about you,but most of us don't know anything about you!So how about you just say a bit yourself,eh?(random time!)

Avi: Alrighty: I'm a student at university, in my third year.  I'm majoring in economics.  Music has and most likely always will be solely a hobby.  I've been playing guitar for coming up on six years now, and been writing for about five of those years.  I grew up with music around the house---my mother played the sitar semi-professionally for the better part of two decades.

MM:Why just a hobby?You have a lot of potential to make it professional,you know.

Avi:The problem is getting "found". I know a lot of people on and off the AMP with so much potential and that killer "sound", but getting heard nowadays is all about knowing the right people, and unfortunately, I don't.  Also, I've spent way too long in school and university working hard to have the kind of career I want.  It's not like I hate economics, and sure, I'd much rather be a rock star waking up at the crack of noon and bumming around all day, but it's not that easy

MM:Well Rome wasn't built in a day you know.It takes a while to get found,ya know? And I'm sure you can do both.Isn't Jean Simmons doing that?Look at him!He's amazing(as are you) And I'm sure we all want to be rock stars :P

Avi:I appreciate that, truly, but growing up a musician in the 70's was a lot easier than growing up a musician today.  And it's not like I don't want to do the work---actually, it is like that, haha; I've spent way too long working towards my major to give that up right now.

MM: Well at least you're not giving up on music.If some kid was going to totally and completely give up on music,what would you say?