#1September 4th, 2005 · 02:50 PM
49 threads / 42 songs
493 posts
United Kingdom
STUDIO TECHNOLOGY : Compression
Quite a few people have asked me the odd question about production/sound recording, which I am quite happy to answer, so I thought it might be helpful to share a bit of the info, particularly for things that used to cause myself some confusion (and probably still do )

For this reason I'd like to start dropping a little basic information around here about studio technology. Many of you will know about this already (or know more) but I think it will be helpful for a few people who are fairly new to recording and looking to expand their knowledge and thus open up more creative opportunities for themselves. Essentially, good studio work is all about conveying your musical vision to the ear of the listener in the best way that you can.

I'm not a producer or a sound engineer by trade, but I am qualified in music technology - although most of what I use is garnered through experience. It's just a shame that my equipment is complete shite - but I'm saving

Anyway, onto the first in a 'Studio Technology' series - Compression. This is a topic of confusion for many people, so this is the best explanation I can come up with...

~COMPRESSION~

Imagine the volume level of whatever you have recorded in decibels. Naturally, this level jumps around a bit as you play.

A COMPRESSOR IS FOR MAKING THE VOLUME LEVELS OF WHATEVER IT IS PROCESSING MORE CONSISTENT It is essentially for 'compressing' the dynamic range, by boosting the lows and reducing the volume 'peaks'. Bear in mind this is not always a good thing. It is easy to overuse compressors and remove all the dynamic expression. Additionally, the above bold statement is only half true - when used in certain ways compressors can actually alter the sound in other, subtle ways.