#1January 5th, 2008 · 10:57 PM
24 threads / 19 songs
171 posts
United States of America
Monitoring Speakers
I'm new to home recording and my budget is pretty limited....

I'm recording with Cakewalk and am using Power Studio 250.  I am quite sick of hearing a good mix through headphones straight from the computer and then switching a CD copy of my song into my home stereo and car stereo and hearing it not sound as good.  I understand why this is (speaker size, straight-into-ear and open room, etc.).  I need a suggestion for a fairly good monitoring speaker that'll be useful with my computer.  I don't need something loud, just something inexpensive and a good representation of how my song will sound on a car stereo or home stereo.
#2January 6th, 2008 · 02:48 AM
160 threads / 33 songs
1,965 posts
United States of America
suggestions.. go shopping  listen to the ones that are out there and then get the ones you want.

there are way to many monitors out there that all have there own unique sound or thing going on.

Almost of these monitors are about the same, but just like home speakers none of them sound the same.

I really like the JBL 4208's and the JBL 6208's, you would probably have to find these used somewhere.

Genolic are usually pretty good too.

The self eq'n Jbls are really nice but a little pricey.

Tannoy has some ok  stuff

I would suggest going to a guitar center, or other music store, or recording sales place, that would let you check em out ...doesn't mean anything though, cause when you get em home they will sound completely different do to room response.
#3January 6th, 2008 · 09:52 AM
24 threads / 19 songs
171 posts
United States of America
I was trying to get some ideas to hone my shopping experience.  Thanks for the suggestions.
#4January 6th, 2008 · 04:09 PM
64 threads / 13 songs
669 posts
United States of America
Any price range you are looking for?  I can help you out if you narrow it down somewhat.