#1December 12th, 2007 · 05:55 AM
12 threads / 8 songs
70 posts
South Africa
Recording guitar to PC
hey all. i am a complete novice in this field and busy feeling my way through. I have an acoustic guitar with pickup which I am trying to record to PC. i am using M-audio fast track pro to connecto via USB but all I get is a level way too high and huge distortion. Any tips? Also what software should I be using because at the mo I am trying to record direct into FL Studion which I am not sure is a good idea?
#2December 12th, 2007 · 07:27 AM
77 threads / 59 songs
923 posts
Netherlands
i dont know FL but maybe u can lower the input signal somewhere in the mixer, or maybe even in the Windows mixer, check some settings, routings, connect in the right way, start up again..
i use M-audio Audiophile longtime, had some probs at first too, now its fine
i use Magix Audio Studio or Cubase to record

good luck
#3December 12th, 2007 · 10:45 AM
1 threads / 1 songs
47 posts
Germany
I think you need a preAmp to go between the computer and your guitar, WaM.  I can't offer a lot of help here, as I record my guitar tracks with a digital multi-track recorder then export tracks as WAV for use in my FL Studio projects.

Once you get the guitar preamp thing straightened out, you ought to be able to record tracks in FL Studio or other software.  Google on AUDACITY for and excellent and FREE software package which is a simplier to manage than FL Studio.  Audacity is good to have in your hip pocket for quick mods and rendering -- sometimes I just don't want to dig all around FL Studio looking for a capability that is easily found in Audacity.

Hope this helps and good luck, man.

Rick
#4December 12th, 2007 · 04:27 PM
160 threads / 33 songs
1,965 posts
United States of America
ther should be some kind of  virtual mixer or input.output controls for you Maudio interface .. also I think ther is a mixer or input controler for fl also