#1May 3rd, 2009 · 04:17 AM
46 threads / 33 songs
179 posts
United States of America
How to set up a recording studio in $1000
Hi,
I know some threads have dealt with this topic before but I wanted a little more insight and I was hoping you guys could help me out. Before I ask for advice about equipment I guess it is would be good to tell that my music is mostly one acoustic guitar and vocals. I might also add some leads with a Fender Strat.

I am very new to this. I don't exactly know what all is required but I was thinking of buying the following

1 Preamp to interface with the computer (I was thinking M-Audio audio buddy)
1 Condenser mic for the vocals (I was thinking MXL 990)
1 Matched pair mic for the acoustic guitar (No clue)
1 Midi Keyboard controller to add effects (No clue)
Chords
Either headphones or studio monitors

I was also looking to buy an amp and an effects peddle for the Fender Strat.
I am planning to use Garage Band to record.

Question: Am I trying to buy too much stuff in too much money?
Question: Do I need to buy anything else in hardware for a basic recording setup
Question: Can I use a standard amp as a studio amp or vice versa?
Question: Does Garage band work with a midi controller?
Question: What preamp/mic etc. do you think I should go for?

Any other advice you might have for me. Most of music is soft light folk kind of stuff. Thank You.
#2May 3rd, 2009 · 02:22 PM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
I don't use a PC, I've got a Yamaha AW16G digital workstation, use a line6 Pod for the guitar and an ART gold preamp for mics drum machine and sometimes keyboards, them use Adobe audition to clean up and special effect etc.