#1November 14th, 2008 · 08:16 AM
1 threads
1 posts
United Kingdom
Importance of music theory today
Hey
I'm a media composition student and I've got to do a research on the importance of music theory today, especially for media composers (adverts, games, films).
I'd just like to know what you guys think:
-if you know some music theory, is it helpful? when, where why do you think it's important (or if not, why?)

- if you don't know or just very little about music theory, would a deeper knowledge help? or you think it's useless?

Whatever you do, each comment would be of great help! The more the better!

Cheers
#2November 14th, 2008 · 10:48 AM
181 threads / 54 songs
1,932 posts
Canada
I have a very limited knowledge of music theory, and I can say, if I learned more, I would be A LOT better.
Music theory helps you find the scales, all the notes that are "in tune" with each other.
If you know music theory y ou can create some really nice songs.

I think everyone should at least know a little. You can get by without it, but its just not the same.
#3November 14th, 2008 · 02:38 PM
102 threads / 59 songs
204 posts
Canada