#1August 5th, 2005 · 06:35 PM
3 threads / 2 songs
15 posts
United States of America
Drums Suggestions
There doesn't seem to be a large number of them here, but I figure I'll ask a question.

Right now, I'm playing a vintage 4 piece Rogers acoustic set (the snare isn't a Rogers).  Somewhere between 25 and 35 years old.  Durable as ever.  Doesn't have lugs for bottom heads on the toms, even, and they just thunder.

I started playing about 3.5 years ago, and I'm loaning this kit from the drummer in my dad's band, who obviously has a much bigger and better one (A Pearl Session Series).  I have expanded on this kit myself, got new heads, cymbals, stands, a double bass pedal, throne, etc. as I get the cash to pay for them.

I've gone out and got myself a job and have saved up around 2500 bucks so far, and I'm looking at investing this into a new drum set so I can finally have some shells to call my own.

I'm currently jamming with a band, and we play rock and blues type material.  SRV, Hendrix, Rush, Aerosmith, The Beatles, etc.  Plus some even older stuff like Steppenwolf and the Surfaris.  Can anyone give me some advice as to what type of drums would be worth looking into that can cover these styles?

I've made a couple trips to a few different drum shops, but in general, it's hard to get a feel for how the drums can and will sound and play, since the stock heads on them are usually crap, or out of tune, the kit is not set up well, lacks decent hardware, etc.  Most places frown upon letting a 16 year old mess with their drum sets, and won't let me grab random stuff from around the store to set up a kit.

Any advice appreciated.
#2August 6th, 2005 · 01:24 AM
11 threads / 2 songs
69 posts
United Kingdom
My advice would be to get a Yamaha kit.