#1April 5th, 2006 · 10:11 AM
37 threads / 25 songs
237 posts
United States of America
drum machine vs software
hi all replacing my old zoom mrt 3 have limited $ ive hears the sr16 alesis is the choice
i can afford this boss makes a couple units in my price range i have fruity loops came with sonar 3.0
please advise machine..vs..software i havnet  had a lot of luck looping but im an old dog
thats still learnin
thanks in advance please be specific concerning products
buzzz

oh and arrousek your right trying to find that beat is a major pain in ass / and i havent perfected step recording at this time as im a self taught dumbass guitar playerlol
#2April 7th, 2006 · 09:15 AM
7 threads
104 posts
United Kingdom
Alesis SR-16
I use an SR-16 because it has tons of natural sounding drums built in and you can tap in whatever you want (then loop it etc) instead of trawling though stacks of loops looking for the one you want (by which time you have forgotten anyway).

It also has many "hidden" features....
e.g. most drum machines (and static samples) have 1. hi-hat open & 2. hi-hat closed and that's it. SR-16 allows you to "blend" the two using the buttons, which creates a more natural hi-hat sound (without having to rent a real drummer or their kit!).

Recommended.
#3April 9th, 2006 · 01:03 AM
117 threads / 55 songs
1,540 posts
Chile
I still don't know exactly what is a drum machine. Can you explain me?
What's the difference between a drum machine and a software?

> Iszil
#4April 9th, 2006 · 03:45 AM
121 threads / 56 songs
3,098 posts
Netherlands
Iszil wrote…
I still don't know exactly what is a drum machine. Can you explain me?
What's the difference between a drum machine and a software?

> Iszil