#1July 20th, 2011 · 03:59 PM
5 threads
17 posts
United States of America
Best way to monetize your music online?
Hey guys,

As an unsigned musician I find myself scratching my head all the time and wondering how to make money off of my music and monetize my work online. I have found a few resources but I was wondering what you all do to monetize your music content online? It would be great to hear some success stories and maybe get a jump start with some tips.

Here are the different platforms that I am aware of:

iTunes:
Pros: Has a lot of the bigger brands and is a well known name.
Cons: Requires users to pay for music which they may not be willing to do.  Certainly not start up artists.

Pages.Socialmusic.com:
Pros: Provides artists with a way to monetize their music without asking users or fans to spend any money or do anything uncomfortable. Fans view a short series of ads then proceed to music. Artists are paid each time one of their fans does so.
Cons: Does not have quite as big a name as the others yet.

CDbaby.com
Pros:  A simple way for unsigned artists and small labels to begin getting serious profiting off of their work.
Cons: The amount of musicians active on this website is extremely large, so that CD you are selling for $6 may take a while to get noticed.

Songstall.com
Pros: An easy to use on line music shop which allows independent artists to sell their music to their fans and friends.
Cons: Not the easiest platform to use, company takes a % off of the total song/album sale.

What do you guys think?
#2July 20th, 2011 · 04:07 PM
181 threads / 54 songs
1,932 posts
Canada
I know that once I'm done recording my album I will be using www.routenote.com to release it. It sends it to all the major music stores with no charge to you and you get to keep like 90% of the royalties, or you can pay for a plan and get 100% of the royalties. It may be that you get to keep 85%...I can't remember...but I highly recommend checking out www.routenote.com