#1August 7th, 2012 · 03:37 PM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
New Mandolin

This song is not in a battle

Bought a Mandolin, arrived this morning, I was surprised how quick I took to it and recorded this - I used the set of strings that came with it, normally cheap gear comes with crap strings, but I'm no expert on Mandolins and this one has a spruce top whereas I've seen similar ones like the stagg which is Basswood I think, I was lucky I won this on an auction from a Ebay music shop, the buy it now price is around £120.00, I won the auction for £54.00 and it came with a nice wooden case...RESULT -  all I know is it's a fun instrument to play, took a while to find out the best way to hold it, my fat belly helped.
I recorded through a stereo pair of pencil condensers, but I think it might sound smoother through a ribbon mic..
This was a little present to myself from doing some basic decorating to my home - Now I can have some fun.

Here she is:

Does this song not follow the Rules? Please Report Abuse
#2August 7th, 2012 · 10:52 PM
29 threads / 23 songs
197 posts
United States of America
Wow what a steal!  Loving the recording too!  Very clean!  How does it feel to play it?
#3August 8th, 2012 · 01:10 AM
117 threads / 27 songs
1,057 posts
Germany
UN-BE-LIEV-ABLE !!

Denis buys an instrument without any experience to play and -schwuppdiwupp- he records a celtic ditty without mistakes. Clean, clear, full and loud.

UN-BE-LIEV-ABLE !!

PS:  why did you delete your olympic song you´ve uploaded recently?
#4August 8th, 2012 · 01:27 AM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
UndercoverApple wrote…
Wow what a steal!  Loving the recording too!  Very clean!  How does it feel to play it?