#1January 11th, 2007 · 11:51 PM
1 threads / 1 songs
8 posts
United States of America
Cookbook

This song is not in a battle

Hey everybody. First song we have recorded here in the good ol' basement. It is one of our simpler songs for the sake of my sanity. I really need some suggestions on what to do to make it sound a bit cleaner, as I am new at producing/recording. The song does contain a bit of profanity, so please be aware.  Let me know what you think, we will be recording some good stuff in the future!

Does this song not follow the Rules? Please Report Abuse
#2January 12th, 2007 · 09:18 AM
77 threads / 59 songs
923 posts
Netherlands
i like the song, nice piece!

but the some parts being out of sync or tune or both, is a bit too much now and then 

fixing that, and some remixing on the vocals and drums would make this a great piece

so since you ask for suggestions:

vocals are a  bit dry and loud, a bit reverb and compression could help here

basedrum and snare are way too far in the back, could use some eq. and there's too much reverb there imo

of course you are probably limited by gear like most of us, so i still give a good vote because i think its a very original style
#3January 12th, 2007 · 10:41 AM
1 threads / 1 songs
8 posts
United States of America
Thanks
I appreciate the comments. The timing is definitely off in some parts, we just ran out of time and those tracks were the best we had. I will try to add a bit of reverb, and I will do a bit of research to find out what a compressor does. I did tinker with the drums for a good while without getting much better than that, do you have any recommendations on how I would make the snare pop a bit more? Again, I appreciate the comments and the help.
#4January 12th, 2007 · 03:04 PM
189 threads / 27 songs
2,834 posts
Germany
uuuuh much out of sync but I cant do it much better....
I had the feeling the singer is out of air sometimes