#1March 11th, 2009 · 05:49 PM
341 threads / 59 songs
4,361 posts
Cymru (Wales)
I think lyrics come to those who feel the need to express themselves that way, so I agree very much with the idea of not forcing anything, sitting down a working at something is a different matter, then you throw ideas around and see if they land.
I personally take it for granted that if a piece of text has no flow or tempo then it's some zen quote but not a song.
As a writer I have learned (through bandAmp) that a lyric from the writers point of view can be way too long for a song , from the songs point of view ! Because a song carries a lot of 'meaning' in the fact that it's the sung word in combination with music, 'made for each other', where as a poem (seen as a lyric by the writer) has it's meaning written into the imagery it portrays. Making it sometimes a bit 'too much' when it comes to putting it to music.
I've found that most of my 'lyrics' have needed a little cutting and pasting and shuffling around when it comes to the song, and it always works out in the end......that's the nature of the song.....you wouldn't be doing it if it wasn't possible !    
#2March 12th, 2009 · 08:46 AM
371 threads / 187 songs
3,394 posts
United Kingdom
kings wrote…
I think lyrics come to those who feel the need to express themselves that way, so I agree very much with the idea of not forcing anything, sitting down a working at something is a different matter, then you throw ideas around and see if they land.
I personally take it for granted that if a piece of text has no flow or tempo then it's some zen quote but not a song.